The Seven Churches in Revelation: An End times Warnings to the Christian Believers! (Final series)

No comments

The beginning of life is reflected in the book of Genesis, then the end of it is portrayed in the book of Revelation. The Word of God unites and fulfills the historical reality of life. Jesus is the complete consummation of human life. His love to all is unconditional and so He personally remembers to give a firsthand warnings to all His followers and the believers in the church in this end times. Apostle John had expressed this in the opening chapters of the book Revelation of Jesus Christ. Haven’t you wonder why Revelation of Jesus Christ book started with the warnings to the churches? Is the church needs to be reprimanded primarily before all the end times destructions occur?

“The Revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave him to show unto his servants, even the things which must shortly come to pass: and he sent and signified it by his angel unto his servant John;” Revelation 1:1 ASV

Jesus and The Seven Churches:

In Chapter 1, Jesus is dressed as the High Priest in Heaven in the midst of 7 Lampstands or 7 Churches of Revelation. In Chapters 2 & 3, Jesus sends 7 Letters to the 7 Churches or 7 Lampstands. These messages point out the importance of the church to Jesus. Believers Must listen to what the Spirit says through Jesus (Rev 5:6, 4:4, 1:4) to ALL 7 Churches (es) PLURAL. This is crucial for the following next chapters tell of the great end times destructions. Jesus first and foremost started the book of Revelation by giving warnings to His beloved CHURCH of whom He saved and gave His life for!

In each Letter of Chapters 2 & 3, Jesus refers back to an attribute in Chapter 1. Jesus provides “REPROVE & DISCIPLINE” with encouragement to be “ZEALOUS & REPENT” to 5 of the 7 Churches. According to Rev 2:5, 16, 21-23, 3:3, 16-17, failure to Repent means destruction by Jesus personally. Jesus Concludes All 7 Letters with the words, “He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches” (Rev 2:7, 11, 17, 29, 3:6, 13, 22). Believers Must listen to what the Spirit says through Jesus. Failure to Listen in any 1 area means failure to “Overcome,” as exemplified by Ephesus in Rev 2:1-7. Jesus’ High Standards for Conquerors are NOT taught or highlighted in most of today’s Churches. MAY YOU “Overcome,” “Conquer” and be “Victorious” by “KEEP(ING)” ALL the words of Revelation! May God Bless you with HIS WORDS, SPIRIT, REPENTANCE & OBEDIENCE! (Rev 1:3, 2:7, 21:7, 22:7, 14)

In ALL 7 Letters, Jesus expresses complete Awareness of the 7 Churches condition, good and lacking when He says to each, “I Know…”
1.➥ Ephesus – Rev 2:2
2.➥ Smyrna – Rev 2:9
3.➥ Pergamum – 2:13
4.➥ Thyatira – Rev 2:19
5.➥ Sardis – Rev 3:1
6.➥ Philadelphia – Rev 3:8
7.➥ Laodicea – Rev 3:22
Revelation 2:23 – Jesus “searches mind and heart, and I will give to each of you according to your works.”

The seven churches in Revelation embody the different status of believers as Jesus sees them. He knows personally how and what’s going on with the churches now a days as Jesus always say in these chapters: “I know your works…” He knows their weaknesses, their strengths, their struggles, their persecutions, and even their sins. Nothing is hidden with Him for Jesus gave His life for this church and that’s how it meant so much to Him. That church is you: His followers; believers and who accepted Him as their personal Lord and Savior.

The Revelation of Jesus Christ:

God gave Him to show His servants the things which must shortly take place. And He sent and signified it by His angel to His servant John, who bore witness to the word of God, and to the testimony of Jesus Christ, to all things that he saw. The Revelation of Jesus Christ: The ancient Greek word translated Revelation is apokalupsis (apocalypse). The word simply means “a revealing, an unveiling.” The Book of Revelation is the Revelation of Jesus Christ in the sense that it belongs to Him, He is the one doing the revealing of the coming destructions and triumphs of His faithful followers. It is also Jesus’ Revelation in the sense that He is the object revealed in these seven churches.

Jesus is the person revealed by the book. If we catch everything else, but miss Jesus in the book, we miss the Book of Revelation. This Revelation started the revealing and unveiling of the status of the seven churches it show the love of Jesus as to warn them before all the seals and bowls of wrath in the following chapters will take place. His love to the church compels His followers to the very end to embrace the message they receive before it’s too late. This is the end times warnings for the Christian believers whom Jesus had saved by His blood! He who has an ears let him hear now !

References: David Guzik Bible Commentary and the 7 Churches Of Revelation – Explore Biblical Interpretation!

Read the series of the Seven Churches in Revelation here: